The Mindfulness Initiative provides the secretariat for the Mindfulness All-Party Parliamentary Group (MAPPG). The MAPPG was set up in 2014 with the stated purpose:

To review research evidence, current best practice, extent and success of implementation, and potential developments in the application of mindfulness within a range of policy areas, and to develop policy recommendations for government based on these findings.

All-Party Parliamentary Groups (APPGs) are informal cross-party groups of UK politicians who join together to pursue a particular topic or interest area. They are essentially run by and for Members of the Commons and Lords, although many groups involve individuals and organisations from outside Parliament in their administration and activities.

Mindfulness APPG Labour Co-Chair, Chris Ruane MP, asks the UK Prime Minister a question about mindfulness

MAPPG Co-Chairs

Tim Loughton MP (Conservative)

Member of Parliament (MP) for East Worthing and Shoreham since 1997. Member of the Home Affairs Select Committee. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Children and Families from 2010-2012.

Chris Ruane MP (Labour)

Member of Parliament (MP) for The Vale of Clwyd and Shadow Minister (Wales). Chris was a deputy head in a large primary school for 15 years prior to being MP. He introduced mindfulness to Parliament with Prof Lord Richard Layard.


MAPPG Officers

Vice-Chair: Nic Dakin MP

Vice-Chair: Jim Fitzpatrick MP

Vice-Chair: Diana Johnson MP

Vice-Chair: Jessica Morden MP

Vice-Chair: Baroness Angela Harris of Richmond

Vice-Chair: Baroness Anna Healy MP

Vice-chair: Lord Alan Howarth of Newport

Vice-Chair: Professor Lord Richard Layard

Vice-Chair: Baroness Ruth Lister of Burtersett

Vice-chair: Lord Andrew Stone of Blackheath



Income and Expenditure

2018 July - 2019 July income statement - approved in APPG AGM October 2019